Keeping Up with Our ABIE Award Winners

The ABIE Awards recognize and celebrate the achievements of both women technologists and those who support women in tech. is always excited to receive new nominations each year for these awards and learn the life stories of these extraordinary and innovative women. We are also just as eager to learn more about our past winners and how they are continuing to make a difference in their field.

Recently, we learned that Dr. Genevieve Bell, our 2013 winner for the ABIE Award for Leadership, will be leaving her position at Intel Labs to teach at the Australian National University (ANU) in Canberra. She stated on Twitter that she will remain a senior fellow at Intel and will continue to help with the company’s research. Genevieve will begin her new job as a professor in ANU’s college of engineering and computer science next month. We wish her the very best and know she will inspire a new generation of technologists. would also like to acknowledge Justine Cassell, winner of the 2008 ABIE Award for Leadership, and Radia Perlman, winner of the 2005 ABIE Award for Innovation. Both women were named Fellows by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) in December for their contributions to the field of computing. ACM will formally recognize its Fellows at the ACM Awards Banquet in June. Congratulations, Justine and Radia, for this well-deserved honor.

Do you know a woman in tech who has made an impact in her field and deserves recognition? Nominate her for an ABIE Award! Nominations close March 8, 2017 at 5 p.m. PT.

Nominate Someone

Read the full ITNews and Oregon Live articles on Genevieve Bell.
Read the full ACM article on Justine Cassell and Radia Perlman.