Press Releases Announces 2014 Women of Vision ABIE Award Winners

Three Women Awarded for Their Exceptional Contributions to Innovation, Leadership, and Social Impact in the Technology Field, a non- profit organization dedicated to connecting, inspiring and guiding women in computing and organizations that view technology innovation as a strategic imperative, today announced the winners of the 2014 Women of Vision ABIE Awards in three categories: Innovation, Leadership, and Social Impact. The Women of Vision program highlights the achievements of individual women making extraordinary contributions to computing. For women and men, they serve as role models of what is possible and as an inspiration in their own careers.

The 2014 award winners are Dr. Tal Rabin, Manager and research staff member of the Cryptography Research Group at IBM’s T.J. Watson Research Center, for Innovation; Dr. Maria Klawe, president of Harvey Mudd College, for Leadership; and Ms. Kathrin Winkler, Chief Sustainability Officer and Senior Vice President of EMC Corporation, for Social Impact. The honorees will receive their awards at’s Women of Vision Awards Banquet on May 8th in Santa Clara, CA.

In 2005, created the Women of Vision ABIE Awards to annually recognize three distinguished women leading technology innovation around the world. These exceptional women are chosen by a panel of their peers for their contributions to technology innovation, industry leadership, and technology-driven social impact.

“From cyber security, to education to sustainability, our 2014 ABIE Award winners are true leaders in shaping technology today and the future,” said Telle Whitney, president and CEO of “These awards give us the perfect opportunity to celebrate the indelible impact and influence Tal, Maria and Kathrin have made on technology every single day. They were chosen from a very strong group of nominees, and are role models for women aspiring to succeed in technology.”

2014 ABIE Award Winners

ABIE Award for Innovation: Dr. Tal Rabin

Dr. Tal Rabin is the manager and a research staff member of the Cryptography Research Group at IBM’s T.J. Watson Research Center. Her research has become part of the foundation for the future of cyber-security and protection of individual privacy. Rabin’s research focuses on the general area of cryptography and, more specifically, on multiparty computations, threshold and proactive security. Rabin obtained her Ph.D. in Computer Science from the Hebrew University, Israel in 1994, and was an NSF Postdoc Fellow at MIT between 1994-1996. Read more

ABIE Award for Leadership: Dr. Maria Klawe

Dr. Maria M. Klawe is the president of Harvey Mudd College. A renowned computer scientist and scholar, Klawe is the first woman to lead the College since its founding in 1955. She supported the Harvey Mudd Computer Science Department’s innovative efforts to attract women to CS, which increased the percentage of female CS majors at the College from 10 percent in 2005 to a current average of 40 percent. Klawe is passionate about making science, engineering and mathematics education more accessible to diverse groups and has emerged as a national thought leader on women in STEM education. Dr. Klawe received her Ph.D. in Mathematics from the University of Alberta. Read more

ABIE Award for Social Impact: Ms. Kathrin Winkler

Kathrin Winkler serves as Chief Sustainability Officer and Senior Vice President of EMC Corporation. She works with functional leaders in EMC’s Green Business Leadership, a cross-functional virtual team that champions company-wide environmental initiatives, to ensure the integration of sustainability principles in day-to-day operations. Read more

In March, will announce the 2014 Top Company for Women in Computing Award. Both the individual winners and Top Company winner will receive their awards at the May 8th Awards Banquet, which will also feature a keynote address from Hilary Mason, Data Scientist in Residence at Accel Partners. Penny Herscher, president and CEO of FirstRain, will act as emcee for the night’s festivities. Last year, the Women of Vision Awards Banquet brought together 930 technology executives, entrepreneurs, students in computing, board members, key corporate sponsors, and media to celebrate initiative, innovation, and leadership of women in technology.

For more information about the Women of Vision Awards Banquet, please visit

Sponsors for the 2014 Women of Vision Awards Banquet include: Dinner Host – Lockheed Martin; Gold Sponsor – NetApp; Silver Sponsor – Thomson Reuters, Cisco; Bronze Sponsor – LinkedIn.


About connects, inspires, and guides women in computing and organizations that view technology innovation as a strategic imperative. Founded in 1997 by computer scientist Anita Borg, our reach extends to more than 53 countries. We believe technology innovation powers the global economy, and that women are crucial to building technology the world needs. As a social enterprise, we recognize women making positive contributions, and advise organizations on how to improve performance by building more inclusive teams. partners include: Cisco, Google, HP, Microsoft, Thomson Reuters, Amazon, CA Technologies, Dell, eBay, Facebook, First Republic Bank, IBM, Intel, Intuit, Juniper Networks, Lockheed Martin, National Science Foundation, National Security Agency, NetApp, SAP, Symantec, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati, Broadcom, EMC, Neustar, Raytheon,, VentureLoop, Xerox and Yahoo! is a not-for-profit 501(c) 3 charitable organization. For more information, visit

Follow on Twitter at @anitaborg_org and become a fan at

For More Information, contact:

Kate Carey New Venture Communications 650-814-3088